We all have heard the parable of the Talents. It is the parable that everyone’s mom repeats to them when they are young, and refusing to practice the piano, or other instrument. There is a Master, and he has three servants. To one he gives five talents. To the second he gives three talents, and to the third he gives one. He then leaves, but directs his servants to use the talents wisely, and to multiply his wealth while he is away. ‘Talent’ apparently is a name for their money. I imagine it as a coin. Anyway, while the master is away, the first servant, who was given five talents, invests the money, and gains five additional talents, so he has ten to return to his master. The second servant does the same, invests his three talents, and gains three more so he has six to give back to his master. The third servant, fearing the wrath of his master should he lose what he was given, hides his talent away in the earth. When the master returns, he is pleased with the efforts of his first two servants and rewards them for their efforts. When the third servant returns the single talent to his master, his master is angry with him. The servant looses the single talent he has, and it is given to him that had ten talents. Such is the story, or near enough.

 All interpretations I had heard were about literal talents. Our abilities. This was a lesson about practicing and sharing our talents and abilities with others. To improve on what we have been given, and to develop ourselves. I have come up with a different interpretation that means a lot more to me.

 Rather than the Talents in the story being actual talents, or being money, to me, the Talents are amounts, or pieces, of love. The master is giving his servants pieces of his love. To some he gives more to than others, and he asks each of his servants to take that piece of love, and to ‘increase’ it. Sounds nice so far.

 I want to focus on the servant who only got one piece of love. Because lately, that guy has been me.

 I am that foolish servant who took his talent and hid it deep in the earth. Away from prying eyes and greedy hands, because I didn’t trust it out in the open. I’ve often wondered if the servant in the story ever looked at the other two and wondered why he got so much less than they did. And an even more interesting question, did the other two servants look on the third with distain, or contempt, believing that he only got one because he was not as wise or clever as they were.

 Enough dancing in the metaphor. Here is what I am trying to convey through all this. Speaking as one who has had his heart broken, it is all too tempting to take whatever amount of love you have been given, and burry it deep in the earth. After feeling that amount of pain and sorrow, my poor heart wanted nothing to do with love. I did not let it increase, I did not let it stay in me, because it hurt too badly. The consequence in the parable was that the talent was taken away. Well, love can be taken away as well. You can shut out love, but when you do, you throw out all of it. Not just the part that is hurting. The whole thing goes. The whole talent gets buried. And yes, the heartache does subside. It gradually fades, but so does your ability to feel and receive any other form of love. And oh, what a foolish servant I have been. Not once, but twice now the Master has taken away my talent because I have buried it deep in the earth. Twice now I have thrown the gift of love aside. Buried it so I no longer have to deal with it. This poor servant is not the brightest when it comes to talents, and how to invest them. Thankfully the Master is patient. He is helping me as I slowly learn lessons that will help me remember the value of the talent, even when it burns me.

 One lesson I want to share is this. There will always be those who have more talents than you. Don’t let this bother you. Maybe they were just given more. Maybe they have already put a lot of effort into investment, and you are just seeing the result. Just focus on yours. On the flip side, there may be times when those who have more will look at the one talent you have, and tell you that it’s not a real talent. Or that it is so small, it is meaningless and it will never amount to anything. I honestly can’t imagine why someone would do that, but for some reason, some do. I try to ignore them. Yes, my talent is so small compared to their many talents. Yes, it seems silly to only have one to invest. But it is mine. It is all I have. And I need it.

 God gave me my talents, just as he gave you yours. Only you and he know the true value and worth of what he has given you. The rest of us can only guess by how you treat it. If you taint it, or throw it away, the world will only see it as worthless. If you value and treasure it, and treat it like the priceless gem it is, then it doesn’t matter how the world sees it. But chances are, they will treasure it too.

